Wastewater Improvements Task Force


Name Position
Alan Snider
Bill France
Zone 2
Bob Jones 
Zone 3
Bob Norton
St. John's Hospital
Cameron Rose
Zone 3
Chip Parker 
Citizen At-Large
Florence Noeth
Zone 1
James Owen
Zone 2
Jeff Krause
Ken McClure
Missouri State University
King Coltrin
Home Builders Association of Greater Springfield
Kirk Heyle
Citizen At-Large / Heyle Realtors
Loring Bullard
Watershed Committee of the Ozarks
Michael Pessina
HDR Engineering
Mitch Hylen
Turblex Wastewater
Norman Ridder
Springfield Public Schools
Paul Obermann
CMC Recycling
Rita Silic
Zone 1
Rob Fridge
Drury University
Rob Simon
Allen Filters, Inc.
Rod Schaffer
Cox Hospital
Roger Berg
Zone 4
Suzan Gonder
Environmental Works
Tiffany Frey
James River Basin Partnership
Tim Rosenbury Zone 4

Overview & Charge

Springfield must make additional investments in its wastewater system to continue meeting regulatory requirements and to protect the environment. The Wastewater Improvements Task Force will help improve this community asset by integrating community values throughout the process.

This task force will answer the following questions:
  • What principles should guide Springfield's investment decisions and rate setting?
  • How much should Springfield invest in maintaining infrastructure?
  • How should rates be set to fairly and equitably recover costs from all customers?
  • What type of financial best practices should be implemented in improve the financial sustainability of the utility?
  • What sort of program should Springfield implement to address basement backups?
  • What sort of program should Springfield develop to address private connections and private lateral issues?
  • What sort of program should be put in place to address overflows related to satellite communities?
The task force will also provide the Mayor and City Council written recommendations regarding the rate setting process.