The City of Springfield is governed by a non-partisan City Council utilizing a council/manager form of government consisting of a nine-member City Council. City Council sets the policy and direction of the city while the city manager oversees the day-to-day operations of the organization. 

With an Aa1 bond rating, Government Finance Officers Association awards for excellence in financial reporting every year since 1977, and excellent stewardship of tax dollars, the City of Springfield is widely regarded as a fiscally responsible and well-managed municipality.

City Council

By Charter, the city has eight council members who are each elected for a four-year term on a non-partisan basis, and a mayor who is elected for a two-year term. The presiding officer at council meetings is the mayor.

Council meetings begin at 6:30 p.m. every other Monday at the City Council and Planning & Zoning Commission Meeting Facility, 2620 W. Battlefield Road. In addition, there are lunch workshop meetings each Tuesday at the Busch Municipal Building. 

Council meetings can be viewed online. If there are issues that you wish to bring to the attention of the mayor or the council member representing the district in which you live, visit the City Council page to contact them. If you are unsure which council zone you reside in, check the map of council zones, which allows you type in your address.

City Manager & City Attorney

The city manager is appointed by the council and serves as the chief administrative officer of the organization. The city manager is responsible for administration of city affairs, day-to-day operations, and implementation of council policies. The city attorney advises and represents the city and council in all legal affairs.

Historic City Hall